Short Music Video and Jacket Photos Also Released!


Maaya Sakamoto’s new single “Dakishimete,” which is already available on digital platforms, will also be released as a CD single on April 3.


The lead track, “Dakishimete,” serves as the ending theme for the second season of the WOWOW original anime The Fire Hunter. The lyrics and composition were handled by Senri Oe, a renowned singer-songwriter of the 80s and 90s who is currently active as a jazz pianist based in New York. This collaboration marks Sakamoto’s first encounter with Oe, and her restrained yet resonant vocals create a gentle ballad that offers comfort not only to the anime’s tumultuous story but also to many children facing harsh circumstances in real life.


As a coupling track, the new song “Once upon a time” features lyrics by Maaya Sakamoto and composition by the singer-songwriter SIRA, who is known for her excellent chemistry with Sakamoto in previous works such as “un_mute” and “Hidden Notes.” The arrangement, handled by Ryuji Yamamoto, brings forth a cool and jazzy style. The other coupling track is “Dakishimete -Live 2024 Ver.-,” recorded at the rescheduled Tokyo performance of Maaya Sakamoto LIVE TOUR 2023: Kioku no Toshokan on January 2. This version is a live rendition with acoustic arrangements featuring piano and double bass. The blu-ray included with the Limited First Edition will feature 14 songs from the Tokyo live performance.


Additionally, a music video (short ver.) and jacket photos for “Dakishimete” have been released in conjunction with this announcement.



Music Video (Short Ver.)






The music video was directed by Yasuyuki Yamaguchi, who was also involved in Maaya Sakamoto’s previous music videos such as “Naimononedari.” This short version features live footage of Maaya Sakamoto performing “Dakishimete,” intertwined with scenes of people starting their day in the morning light of Tokyo. The full version will feature a different story. It is scheduled to be released on April 3.




Product information




Title: Dakishimete

Artist: Maaya Sakamoto

Release Date: April 3, 2024

Product No./Price:

Limited First Edition (CD + Blu-ray) / VTZL-238 / ¥4,400 (inc. tax)

Regular Edition (CD): VTCL-35372 / ¥1,320 (inc. tax)





  1. Dakishimete (ED theme of WOWOW original anime The Fire Hunter)

Lyrics & composition: Senri Oe; Arrangement: Shin Kono

  1. Once upon a time

Lyrics: Maaya Sakamoto; Composition: SIRA; Arrangement: Ryuji Yamamoto

  1. Dakishimete -Live 2024 Ver.-

And two karaoke tracks



Distribution information



The lead song “Dakishimete” is available on streaming services and major download sites such as the iTunes Store, RecoChoku, and mora!

The coupling songs will be released on April 3!


Streaming services: Apple Music, Spotify, YouTube Music, LINE MUSIC, Amazon Music, Deezer, AWA, Rakuten Music, KKBOX, TOWER RECORDS MUSIC


Blu-Ray contents:

The blu-ray that comes with the Limited First Edition will include 14 songs from the Maaya Sakamoto LIVE TOUR 2023 performance at Tokyo Garden Theater on January 2, 2024. (18 tracks including introduction and MC segments)


  1. Kioku no Toshokan〜Introduction
  2. Naimononedari
  3. Konna Hi ga Kuru Nante
  4. MC1
  5. discord
  6. Time Traveler
  7. Kuuchuu Teien
  8. Taion
  9. Ichidokiri de Ii
  10. Kagami no Naka de
  11. Anything you wanna be
  12. MC2
  13. Crosswalk
  14. Traumerei
  15. Private Sky
  16. Magic Number
  17. MC3
  18. Sumire








Born in Tokyo. Active as a child actress from age eight. She made her CD debut in 1996 with the single “Yakusoku wa Iranai.” In 2011, her album You can’t catch me topped the Oricon chart. In 2013, she released Singer-Songwriter, the first album for which she wrote all the music.


In 2019, she released her 30th single “Uchuu no Kioku” (produced by Ringo Sheena) and her 10th original album Kyou Dake no Ongaku. In 2020, she released her 25th anniversary album Single Collection+ Achikochi and the digital single “Yakudo,” which topped the Oricon chart.


In 2021, she released her concept album Duets, which featured a variety of artists, and in the same month, she celebrated the 25th anniversary of her CD debut with a concert at Yokohama Arena, which is now on sale on Blu-ray and DVD.


In May 2022, she released the double tie-up single “Sumire / Kotoba ni Dekinai,” with music written and arranged by Shigeru Kishida. In July of the same year, her radio program “Vitamin M,” in which she has been a personality for 20 years, reached its 1,000th broadcast and entered its 21st year.


In 2023, she released her 33rd single “Mada Tooku ni Iru / un_mute.”


As a lyricist, in addition to writing her own first album, she has also written many songs for other artists, including Kinki Kids’ “Hikari no Kehai,” Mamoru Miyano’s “Toumei,” and Walküre’s “Kaze wa Yokoku Naku Fuku,” and has published her own lyrics book Shishu (Kadokawa).


She also won the 38th Kazuo Kikuta Theater Award for her performance as Jerusha in the musical Daddy-Long-Legs.


She is a voice actress, actress, lyricist, essay writer, and radio personality, and her vibrant voice has won the support of fans all over the world.


Official homepage:

Official YouTube channel:



Apple Arcade Samba de Amigo: Party-To-Go “Open Your Heart” (Sonic Adventure) and “Permission to Dance” (BTS) Added in Newest Update!
Like a Dragon: Infinite Wealth – Ringo Shiina’s Song Appears In-Game!